October 7, 2016 is the day I finally understood that old Canadian joke. You know the one, where people joke that Canadian kids have to choose  Halloween costumes that can be work with a snowsuit. Growing up in Vancouver it would be cold on Halloween, but snowsuits seemed excessive.

Then I moved to Edmonton.

I was here less than one week and the snow came. And I’m now thinking of costumes for this Halloween where I can be as warm as possible.

img_3229

The snow fall wasn’t huge, but in one night it equalled what we got in Vancouver over the past two years.

So I did my favourite snow day activity – I stayed in bed with coffee and oatmeal and thought about writing a blog, but instead watched old episodes of Law and Order (this blog finally happened three days later).

img_3244

Eventually I took myself outside and walked about the winter wonderland… while listening to Christmas music because snow = Christmas. Thanksgiving be damned.

img_3245

img_3238

To be honest with you, it wasn’t that cold. I mean, I did break out my parka but I was warm and it was only like -1 (c). I even went out later and wore only a sweatshirt, because I’m getting cocky. It’ll be fun to look back at this paragraph in a few months when it’s -20 (c) and I’m a human icicle.

img_3237

I did have one realization that hit like a tonne of bricks, which is that I’ll need proper shoes. These were not cutting it.

img_3235

I was able to drive in the snow though. I mean, the roads were clear, it was midday and there was no ice, but this is a huge step forward for me. I’m usually terrified of driving when there’s snow. High five to Edmonton for having better snow clearing practices than the Lower Mainland.

img_3239

Leave any recommendations for moderately priced snow boots in the comments!

 

